Art Para Sa Lahat, Para Sa Visayas: fundraising for victims of Typhoon Yolanda

Prior to visiting the Philippines, I’d been in contact with some Filipino street + graffiti artists, getting to know them + organising some neat street painting opportunities. Our focus changed after Super-typhoon Yolanda hit + devastated entire cities in the Visayas.

Only a few hours after I landed in Manila, I made my way to Fully Booked, a super bookstore/event centre in Global City, where I joined a huge gathering of Manila’s most active street + graffiti artists to live paint + raise funds for communities affected by Yolanda. It was a crazy, super-busy day, where I met + painted next to many of my new Filipino friends. It was a brilliant introduction to Manila’s warmth, hospitality, creativity + community spirit +, together, we helped to raise hundreds of thousands of Philippine Pesos for the relief effort.

The next evening, I was the feature live-painter at Art Para Sa Lahat Para Sa Visayas, another urban/street art fundraising project created + organised by the fantastic (+ super talented) artist Geloy Concepcion. Geloy put out the call for artists to donate works for sale, then worked with the PSP + Secret Fresh Gallery at the super RONAC Art Centre to offer this one-night-only event. I loved the chance to again catch up with my new friends, create some artwork in support of a great cause, + see my donated prints (+ Dean Sunshine’s Land of Sunshine Melbourne street art books) on display in great company.

Art Para Sa Lahat

t Art Para Sa Lahat

Big Boy (left, below) + the crew put on a super gig, full of rad street art, beats, street food + good times.

RONAC Art Centre, Manila

RONAC Art Centre, Manila

Watching the live painting

Watching the live painting

Funds raised from the sale of artwork have already been distributed to the affected areas personally, by Geloy + friends:

Donated street art + graffiti sold to raise funds for victims of Yolanda

Donated street art + graffiti sold to raise funds for victims of Yolanda

Celebrating at RONAC Art Centre

At RONAC Art Centre

Outside at the live painting, RONAC Art Centre

Outside at the live painting, RONAC Art Centre

I used markers to draw/paint a deerhunter, which my new friends then completed, to super effect.

Street + graffiti artists live painting

Street + graffiti artists live painting over/around a Kaff deerhunter

Live painting

Live painting

I loved seeing how they transformed the deerhunter into a genuinely Filipino work of street art:

The finished collaboration

The finished collaboration

Detail, the finished collaboration for Art Para Sa Lahat

Detail, the finished collaboration for Art Para Sa Lahat

It was a great evening, with art sales contributing more much-needed funds for Typhoon Yolanda victims. I was stoked that my donated prints had all sold, + I was also stoked to be able to buy some great Filipino artworks to take home with me. Thank you Geloy, PSP + Secret Fresh Gallery, for making me feel so welcome in a new land, + for making my first weekend in the Philippines ones which I will never forget. Salamat Po!

Geloy with his team Jus Belib in Typhoon affected Visayas

Geloy with his team Jus Belib in the typhoon-ravaged Visayas, during their visit to distribute funds raised through Art Para Sa Lahat (photo from Geloy’s Facebook profile)

x

About Kaff-eine


Leave a Reply

