Balmy autumn Kensington painting

Anxious to make the most of Melbourne’s unseasonably warm, calm autumn weather, I headed to a small, hidden laneway off a quiet street in Kensington last Friday and painted some characters, just for fun.

I was overjoyed to be painting in a t-shirt + light jeans this late in the year, unobserved for the most part, in a quaint area of beautiful Melbourne.  The boards were unexpectedly porous, so I was thankful for the warm breeze which dried the undercoat quickly, + allowed me to continue with my aerosol paints after a short delay.

Sketching the image

Sketching the image

I took my time, playing with some new colours, + having regular coffee breaks (great coffee nearby) throughout the day.

Top character completed. Thirsty walls required an undercoat.

Top character completed. Thirsty walls required an undercoat.

I was happy with the completed piece, a quiet, melancholy image in a forgotten corner of the village.

Goat Burden. Completed piece.

Goat Burden. Completed piece.

Melbourne’s current warm spell cannot last, + I am aware that this might have been the last comfortably-warm outdoor painting session I have in Melbourne until next summer. Given this, I painted until dusk crept up on me,  finishing just as it became too dark to see, satisfied that I squeezed every last productive minute out of the day.

Detail, Goat Burden

Detail, Goat Burden

I packed up my bags + drove home through the dark with the windows down, balmy air streaming over me , the perfect end to a brilliant, late autumn Melbourne day. What a treat.

Detail, Goat Burden

Detail, Goat Burden

I hope you enjoy the painting, Kensington, as much as I enjoyed painting it.  x

About Kaff-eine


4 responses to “Balmy autumn Kensington painting

Leave a Reply

