Sydney painting part 3

While in Sydney, I painted the wonderful Truckstop Diner, above the Beach Road Hotel in Bondi. The diner’s courtyard walls had already been graced by a range of super street artists, so my work would be in good company. On yet another humid, still Sydney day, with threatening clouds overhead, I painted Sydney’s first deerhunter, reclining in the northern corner of the yard.  

Truckstop Diner Deerhunter, Bondi

Truckstop Diner Deerhunter, Bondi

I wanted to keep the style stark + minimal, so I limited myself to only a few aerosol colours, + black + white acrylic paint.

Detail, Truckstop Diner Deerhunter

Detail, Truckstop Diner Deerhunter

Detail, Truckstop Diner Deerhunter

Detail, Truckstop Diner Deerhunter

After I completed the piece, I spent some time in Sydney’s inner west, drawing + painting on found objects in quiet laneways.

Marrickville Tablepony

Marrickville Tablepony

Finally, I painted some characters for two wonderful artists who made my Sydney stay such a fun time: Will Coles, a super sculpture artist who found me many great walls, gave me awesome Sydney street art + graff orientation tours, made brilliant dinners, + was very fine company; + Adam Hill, Will’s friend + a superneat contemporary artist, who offered me a super wall, shelter from the torrential rain, + rad conversation. I now have much loved new Will Coles + Adam Hill artworks in my collection, + am working on trades for them. Adam is a mad Rabbitohs fan (seems a prerequisite for living in Redfern), so I painted him a Kaff-eine Rabbitoh on a donated piece of wood. I am still working on Will’s trade piece.

Kaff-eine Rabbitoh

Kaff-eine Rabbitoh

Thank you Sydney for the superfun times, the amazing weather, the good folk, + the great walls. Thank you in particular to Bill + John for your ace accommodation; to Will, Tiffany + Adam; to Robyn, Mark, + Mo, for the beautiful walls; + to Miso, for the fine company + the best tattoo ever.

Sydney, I’ll be back for your walls in June x

About Kaff-eine


4 responses to “Sydney painting part 3

Leave a Reply

