Sydney painting part 2: Pasquale + Adam

After finishing my Enmore painting ‘Life is short – hug your donkey’ I had intended to take the next day off to be a tourist around Sydney. Instead, I did my touring with friend Twoone, as we spent the morning wandering around + painting inner west Sydney’s back streets + forgotten spaces.

In the early afternoon I ended up at a super wall in Little Eveleigh st, Redfern. I was determined to do more outdoor painting despite the weather, so I started immediately on the wall under threatening skies:

Threatening skies do not deter me.

Threatening skies do not deter me.

I enjoyed a quiet afternoon in the charming little street before heading home for the evening. The humid weather that accompanied me on the first day did not last, however; I returned the next day to complete the painting, once again, in steadily worsening weather:

Challenging painting conditions

Challenging painting conditions

I persevered, painting a fox child atop a deer character, before heading to a nearby cafe to dry off + recaffeinate:

The finished piece, Pasquale + Adam

The finished piece, Pasquale + Adam

Detail, Pasquale + Adam

Detail, Pasquale + Adam

I was joined by many different people as I painted: residents passing through on their way to + from the local farmers market; neighbours keen to see what was happening in their quiet street; + lovely street art followers + paintspotters who introduced themselves to me + gave me plenty of information about Sydney’s street art. I named the two characters on the wall after Adam Hill, the fantastic artist working from the neighbouring studio who (along with friend + fellow artist Will Coles) offered this wall to me to paint; and Pasquale, the young local boy who quietly watched me paint the piece.

Blue dog street watching, Redfern

Blue dog street watching, Redfern

Thank you, wonderful Redfern, for your hospitality, your great architecture, your super cafes, your distinctive character, and your walls x

About Kaff-eine


Leave a Reply

